Glen is the nominated Anglo-Indian MLA

Glen is the nominated Anglo-Indian MLA

The Anglo Indian community in Jharkhand is celebrating the fact that despite the Centre’s ‘unjust’ removal of the representation of the Anglo-Indian community, the Jharkhand Chief Minister took the bold step of ensuring that the representation does not lapse. The MLA was nominated scant hours before the ‘deadline’ 25th January dawned.

Glen Joseph Galstaun was on Friday sworn-in as an MLA of the Jharkhand Assembly, representing the Anglo-Indian community, taking the total strength of the House to 82.

Galstaun was earlier in the day nominated as a member of the Anglo-Indian community by the governor, an official in the assembly secretariat said.

See Glen speak in this News Bulletin

Assembly Speaker Rabindra Nath Mahato administered the oath to Galstaun at his official chamber, an assembly communique said here.

Galstaun was nominated just a day before the representation of the Anglo-Indian community in the assembly cease to have an effect on the expiration of a period of 70 years from the commencement of the Constitution, he said.

“Glen Joseph Galstaun will, however, continue his full term as per Article 334,” the official said, adding the 70 years period for representation from the community is ending on January 25, 2020.

Galstaun told Newsnet, “I am thankful to the Chief Minister and the Governer of Jharkhand. I will take forward the developmental works in the education and health sectors, and also work towards enrolling economically poor Anglo-Indians all over Jharkhand in the government pension and housing schemes. Development work is going on at Mccluskieganj in Ranchi district where 26 Anglo-Indian families live.”

The official said there would not be any member from the Anglo-Indian community in the state assembly after 2024 as the provision has not been extended.

Meanwhile, prominent members of the Anglo Indian community are expected to meet the Law Minister after Republic Day to further discuss the question of Anglo Indian representation in the Lok Sabha.